Why The Move Will Succeed and Kinect Will Not

5 10 2010

The PlayStation Move has officially been released and with that the next step in motion controlled gaming has been unleashed. It’s a new war between two giant hardware manufactures that may have already been won by a third manufacturer many years ago.

Whether or not a victory has already been won with the release of the PlayStation Move and the upcoming release of Kinect Microsoft and Sony are directly competing with each other for a slice of that Nintendo success. Here is why I believe the PlayStation Move will succeed and Kinect will not.

In order to declare a winner we must first define what success is. Is it units sold? Is it attachment percent? Or maybe its related software sales? In the context of this article my definition of success is none of the above but instead will be which device I think will provide a superior gaming experience.

Personally as a gamer when I play I need that tactile feedback an actual controller provides. This will not be possible with Kinect and because of that I believe the interactive function which is a cornerstone in all games will suffer. PlayStation Move on the other hand can provide that feedback while tracking your movements on a more precise level granting an even more interactive experience.

Speaking of games PlayStation appears to be more serious about supporting games with this motion technology take Killzone 3 and Heavy Rain for instance where as Microsoft is taking compatibility out of major franchises like Fable 3. Also despite being announced after Kinect PlayStation Move has announced many more titles including first party titles. While on the other hand Kinect has fewer titles and the one exciting title is a third party developed game.

Not to mention the games that are scheduled to release for the PlayStation Move appear to be more of the games I want to play. One great example of this is Dead Space: Extraction, granted it was previously released on the Wii but it will now be introduced to a whole new audience and will provide value to PlayStation 3 owners who plan on purchasing the game. Kinect on the other hand is having a difficult time being implemented into games or the way it is being implemented is just not something I see myself playing. The PlayStation Move also provides a good variety of games, from the Wii like clones of Sports Championship to a more in-depth title like the aforementioned Dead Space: Extraction. At this point I just don’t see that diversity with Kinect.

In my eyes PlayStation Move seems to be more of a game platform obviously due to its similarities with the Wii where Kinect while it has incredible tech and possibility appears in its current form to just be a concept. This is why I believe the PlayStation Move will be successful and Kinect will not.

Which motion controlled device do you think will succeed?  Do you plan on purchasing either of them?

Actions

Information

39 responses

6 10 2010
dylantalon

I’ve never seen a public preview video of kinect working the way it should so I don’t see kinect being successful. Kinect is a failure because it doesn’t do what it is being advertised as.move is the best motion controlled option available on the mArket right now.

Xbl/psn – dylantalon

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

I saw Kinect being played while I attended E3 this past year with various results, sometimes it worked flawlessly while other times it had trouble registering the player on screen. This may or may not have been optimal conditions but when I actually played Move at E3 I can say it did work.

6 10 2010
GregHorrorShow

Hey man, firstly thanks for all the comments recently! Secondly with regards to Move I will be picking it up when I get a chance. Mainly with the light gun games in mind, although I’m sure my daughter will enjoy some of the more party based stuff.

Another concern with the Kinect is the amount of space (6ft for single or 8ft for multiplayer) needed to actually play.

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

No worries mate its my pleasure, I really enjoy your work.

I too plan on picking up the Move, I also imagine my young daughter would enjoy a few of the games which is worth the purchase just for that.

6 10 2010
antitroll

Eye already does 3D tracking and anything Kinect has demonstrated so far for $30.

No reason to purchase Kinect for $150. Just more marketing hype and more under delivering from MS.

6 10 2010
cell989

I just dont see my self waving my hands in the air mindlessly. That why Kinect does not appeal to me, Im also getting very irritated at the word “kinect” couldnt they have come up with something more catchy, like say “move”? Well like I was saying, I dont see the potential in kinect but I see it in spades with the MOve, Ive played the timecrisis demo and it was a blast, cant wait for 2 ply coop Deadspace action either, and the peripherals that are coming out for it are just bad ass, perfect for Killzone 3 when it comes out.

6 10 2010
Gladiator007

The Playstation Move or “Pii” as I like to call it is old news. It’s already been done before. The only thing the move brings to the table that the Wii didn’t are HD Graphics, and we all know that casual gamers don’t really give a crap about HD graphics, hence the success of the Wii.

Microsoft however is introducing something entriely different and that’s where the difference is.

Also, keep in mind, making a case from a hardcore gamer’s perspective about either the Move or Kinect is a mute point because their core audiences are not hardcore gamers, but the causual market instead. Sure they will have some variations of hardcore games, but the primary targets will be the casual market at least to start.

6 10 2010
casual gamer

you are confused the word “pii” was made as an insult as to the wii, and kinect is not new, eyetoy smacks you in the face and is far cheaper
move actually works brilliantly and even the reviews say it is different to wi and is miles better, so move along because kinect is a disaster waiting to happen

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

@Gladiator007
If their market is the casual audience then with your “Pii” comment you further made the case for the Move based on the similarities to the Wii and its success.

I agree that Kinect has some great tech and in concept is doing something entirely different I just don’t see that translating into games.

I also do believe that the Move provides something different than the Wii, in part games and the accuracy of the Move controller – its also difficult to disregard the platform. PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 provides services and abilities that the Wii simply can not.

6 10 2010
antitroll

Didn’t know that Wii brought an optical camera and 4-array microphone to the table. Also 4x faster than Kinect (120fps vs 30fps). Kind of important for motion capture quality.

Or that the Wii could move in 3D and integrate with 3D t.v’s for full immersion.
Wii is just like Kinect on that front though. Neither will do it.

But Kinect is entirely different. Not.

Eyetoy 10+ million sold and consider unsuccessful. Kinect won’t come close to selling 35% of it’s install base. IOW a lot less successful than even Eyetoy.

But keep the faith boys. HD-DVD, HDMI not needed, incompatible HDD upgrades, reliability fiascos, $60/year for 5vs5 lag fests on flagship games, and selling off all their studios can’t deter the blind fanboys from reading the writing on the wall.

But yeah Kinect isn’t like all those. It’s different. $150. So it must be worth it. LOL.

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

Nicely put, basically what I was saying but detailed.

6 10 2010
mboojigga

“Another concern with the Kinect is the amount of space (6ft for single or 8ft for multiplayer) needed to actually play.”

Move needs the same amount of space and in Sports champions it tells you throughout the tips and load screen that you need to be 8ft. No clue why anyone keeps bringing up this concern about Kinect but ignores it about Move.

6 10 2010
casual gamer

yeah but other games you can be closer 8ft is not a game-wide restriction, if kinect needs to track your whole body it will be 8ft or more

6 10 2010
meaticus

when i demo’d the Move the employee stood right next to me (about 3 feet) on my left side as i played right handed. Kinect had some bad press with the demos showing 2 players’ limbs merging back and forth between their respective skeleton architecture.

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

We are still not even sure to what lengths Kinect will track your body, or if you are sitting down or even how many people it can track on screen at one time. A lot is still unknown.

6 10 2010
Makidian

You do not have to be 6-8′ away to play Sports Champions. It may say that but it’s more of a recommendation than a requirement because I play it about 4′ from my screen with zero problems whatsoever.

6 10 2010
truthhurts

So kinect will fail cuz a ps3 fanboy wrote this article? Guess well have to wait and see…

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

I appreciate your contribution, but I am far from a PS3 fanboy just my preference and apparently yours disagrees with mine, thats fine.

Despite our difference of opinion I hope you come back, I enjoy reading and discussing with people who agree and disagree with me. Thanks again.

6 10 2010
Dungeon

You need to do a little research before actually writing a blog. Microsoft just announced a PLETHORA of titles that will be coming out exclusively on Kinect. Sony’s titles are games that will be released on the Dualshock Controller as well. They’ll be Move-enabled also. And NO ONE will choose the Move version over the standard one. Move has already failed. Sorry. Their banner title “Sports Champions” only has sold 250,000 copies to date. Kinect’s titles will murder those week one. Move is a Wii Copy. Deal with it. Nobody wants that copycat piece of trash. Sorry Fanboy.

6 10 2010
Makidian

Everything you said is fundamentally wrong. Move enabled means that it can be played either way not one or the other. To date is two weeks, and the number you pulled out of VGC is a week old, so try and try again. The titles announced at TGS haven’t even shown a smidgen of gameplay and aren’t launch titles, so have fun with Kinectimals because that’s gonna be GOTY for sure, idiot.

6 10 2010
meaticus

played the Move at the Sony store and it was pretty cool and appeared truly 1:1 for response. like the author said in the article, i could see me playing Move versions of some of the games coming out soon.

Kinect has no merit for me and my gaming. seems laggy and the games are way too casual for me and my friends. I told the girlfriend to ignore Kinect as a gift idea this season as i would rather she buy me a tie.

6 10 2010
CAD

Well I tiried both Tech here in Toronto. Yesterday I went to a Sony event at the Sony Centre and tired Move and Microsoft has a Kinet for Xbox 360 store in Downtown Toronto on Yonge St outside of Eaton Centre. I’m clearly telling you right now based on my own experience with both, Kinect is the clear winner. I like most of the Kinect games except for Joyride and they all worked and was it ever a workout. Move does not have 1 on 1 like Sony claims. Played Lord of the Rings and the Fight and the lag was incredible. I was expcting 1 on 1 motion tracking and it clearly was not. Only the shooter games might have looked 1 on 1 but I didn’t get to try it so I’m not completely sure. Infamous 2 though is game to get though if you own a PS3.

6 10 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

I am certainly not claiming Kinect to be dead, to be perfectly honest I have not played Kinect but during E3 watched plenty of different people play and play different games. I would love to be wrong about this and would love the opportunity to play Kinect. It just been my experience thus far.

As far as the lag when I played Move at E3 I didn’t seem to have any lag – but played those shooting games you speak of and from what I could tell it was definately 1 to 1 and I sure didn’t have 8ft of space in front of me. The problems you had could be on a game to game basis or the fact that I was playing Move in optimal conditions.

Either way I appreciate your side of the coin especially since you have played them both. Hopefully in the near future I will get a chance to try out Kinect. Great comment, Thanks for the visit.

6 10 2010
CAD

Yeah I’ll agree that the shooters looked like it could be 1 to 1. I was this close to trying a shooter but the event came to a close as soon as it was my turn. They wouldn’t let me play. I would say the lighting was good as the place where the Move was set up was a bit dim. Everything else like this sword fighting game and The Fight and Lord of the Rings were not 1 to 1 which threw me because I thought it was suppose to be. The Shoot looked good and some other shooter from Namco Bandi. The shooters were using the gun attachment. Got footage of most of the games and the 3D was very nice but the glasses are a bit heavier then your normal pair of glasses and I hate that presure feeling on the nose. It annoys me so you can guess I don`t wear glasses and I hardly bother with shades unless I`m driving. The 3DS is the future.

With Kinect the games were just more engaging. Vollyball is awesome and so real, Table Tennis is pretty good, I like Your shape as there was this punching game that was suprisingly good. Kinectimals is great for kids. The wife Love Dance Central, didn`t care for Joyride to much but it worked. Racing should be done with a wheel but maybe it the arcadyness of the game. Didn`t get to try all the games but the store will be there till December so I plan to go one more time. They said Boxing was coming and next time I`ll get into Kinect Adventures.

6 10 2010
Makidian

That’s funny because every game I have played so far is incredibly accurate. Now, I haven’t played the two games you mentioned but I am getting LotR this weekend so we’ll see on that one. In other words your blatant attempt at trolling is fail.

6 10 2010
CAD

I basically saw less lag with Kinect and the Wii then I experienced with the Move.

6 10 2010
antitroll

Liar.

6 10 2010
CJ

about the distance..

i have got the move in my room. my tv faces my bed. so if i want to make use of my ps3 i have to lay down. and believe me it al works like charm. i usually lay down but i love the way how tumble makes me sit upright when im battling my gf. that games is so freaking simple but damn addictive!

6 10 2010
doa766

I’ve had the PS Move for a week now and I can tell you it’s fantastic, I played half of the RE5 campaign with it and it feels great, even better than RE4 on the Wii

Heavy Rain works great with it too, but the one I can’t stop playing is the Sport Champions Table Tennis, it’s so close to the real thing

6 10 2010
Tom Ato

Kinect will fail and is retarded in every sense of the word. First – to make it work you have to suspend it at least 2 feet off the floor or it will track the carpet fibres instead of your body during gameplay – retarded.

Second – you have to remove all items from it’s sensor’s line of sight before playing as even the simplest thing, like a magazine lying on the floor, can cause it to stop tracking properly – retarded.

Third – the slightest decibel of background noise will cause it to think it’s under attack and self – destruct – retarded.

Fourth – to utilize Kinect you have to wave your arms and legs around like some braindead moron who just escaped from a mental asylum – retarded. It’s embarassing enough just playing regular games on the 360, with it’s incredibly last – gen graphics, buggy online service and inability to use Blu – Ray but if you add waving your arms in the air and jumping up and down like a lunatic into the mix – it’s the most retarded thing in the world.

Fifth – since the hardware was designed by Microsoft it will more than likely have a 99% failure rate, meaning that you’ll be halfway through jumping up and down like a maniac in your empty room when the device will overheat and set your house on fire – if that’s not retarded I don’t know what is.

In short – the Wiimote is good for casual gamers who don’t want an expensive console. The MOVE is good for both hardcore gamers and casual gamers who don’t mind spending a little extra to get higher quality games and the Kinect is a good – for – nothing pile of trash that even the simplest of simpletons would know is not worth the money OR time.

8 11 2010
Skybase

1st – Track the carpet fibers? What are you talking about? the camera emits IR in all directions forward… (side view, think of “<") so sitting on the ground it loses half of it's tracking. All you'll see is your feet and legs. it has nothing to do with tracking the carpet. That's just ridiculous rambling.

2nd – again totally misled and uneducated statement. Completely ridiculous. I dont' know where you think you're getting your "facts" from….this isn't an issue with ANY of the consoles. People can be sitting behind you moving…hell even walk across in front of you. animals moving etc. Once it's locked into your form it's not that easy to break. Do you actually know how the Kinect camera works, or are you simply squaking off thinking that you're simply using a refractive camera, guessing at what it's seeing???

3rd – I'm not sure if I can even continue to reply to your points. Every single one of them are ridiculous. Kinect calibrates itself to your background ambient noise..as well as to your sound system setup. I have never….EVER even heard of someone having an issue with this. I can be having a conversation..hell we can have several people talking to eachother and in mid-conversation turn and say "xbox next" or whatever when it's playing music and it'll react perfectly. If you don't calibrate it, it still doesn't pick up all background noise..you just might have to talk louder to get it to react to your command.

4th – It's called engagement. If it's that embarrassing, stick to your controller based games. Your low self esteem probably wasn't a factor in developing any of these technologies. Last-Gen graphics? What the hell? Both the XB360 are capable of up to 1080p graphics. The PS3 has technically a more powerful processor but most developers dont' max that out to begin with. The XB360 on the other hand has the more advanced graphics processor. This essentially puts the systems pretty close to on-par with eachother. Graphics-wise…there's no "last-gen" factor on either system. Some games are developed to look a little better on the XB360, while others are developed to look a little better on the PS3. Any of those games would look better on a PC. What is that supposed to mean?

Your mentioning of Blu-Ray has maybe a slight tangibility of credibility, however. The XB360 was released early, and was on the side of HD-DVD in the high definition wars. In the beginning, HD-DVD was a better format in terms of interactivity and flexibility. Blu-Ray simply had a higher capacity. HD-DVD required all players to be net ready and able to interact with "live" content. A natural next-step to the experience. well, perhaps not for someone that's afraid to get interactive I suppose. 😉 Blu-Ray had no standards…and wasn't looking that well off. However, as audio especially took up so much space digitally, Blu-Ray's capacity quickly became a huge factor. When they finally standardized Blu-Ray 2.0 (BD-Live)..following up on what was to be a major deciding factor toward HD-DVD, they leaped ahead and took the market. Their capacity lended more to this, as seen with "Transformers"…to Bay's dismay. Audio had to be compressed for the HD-DVD release. This was a MAJOR nick in Blu-Ray's belt. Now…given that history, and that Microsoft was backing HD-DVD along with many other companies…and Sony just happened to be backing Blu-Ray….the PS3 is the best Blu-Ray player on the market..being the first one to support BD-Live given it was really the only player at the time to have Net and storage space. Everyone else had to go buy a new player for new BD movies. As far as gaming…the higher capacity has helped with….1 or 2 games thus far. Final Fantasy XIII and perhaps one other. The protective coating Blu-Ray standardized makes them more durable for sure. 2 benefits, and as far as gaming, the only real truth to any of your statement. As a High Definition Movie player…a little more truth. The rest of this point of yours…completely idiotic.

5th – Yes, because everything Microsoft makes burns down your house. Sony has never had any issues with their systems….ever. The only product I have ever heard of actually falling victim to any sort of "y2k bug" was the PS3…..and this, 10 years after y2k! 1st even numbered leap year. froze up systems. Firmware issues up the wazoo. Sure, they're easily fixed for the most part….but for a system that only does everything…it no longer plays PS2 games, it no longer allows installation of another OS….no neither does the XB360, but it doesn't advertise that is does everything like the PS3 so proudly does, while back-handedly removing features left and right. Microsoft redesigned their system majorly…(finally..took you long enough you bastards)…but in order to increase reliability and funtionality. AND at the same time lowered the price. Sony releases new "slim" versions of their products all the time…for no other reason that to give a new look and entice more purchases. It's a marketting ploy, IMO. I still run on my old 60GB PS3. I'm much happier with my system than most PS3 slim owners. I can play PS2, upconverted. I have a media card reader. But, I do have to be careful with their firmware updates because on several instances they seem to have forgotten about their original owners…making the systems unplayable for periods of time after a firmware update. Over-exaggerating issues doesn't make it fact. It just brings out YOUR ignorance.

and your "in short" comment….again bringing out your ignorance. I've made another post further down going more into my reasoning, but…..your statements are uneducated, ignorant and to be quite honest… not worth the power it took to generate them on the screen. 😉

6 10 2010
Axe99

Got a couple of Move controllers, and (as I’ve also got a Wii and Motion Plus), can report that it’s a clear step up from the Wii’s Motion Plus (and, when implemented right, doesn’t compare to the vanilla Wii controller). As well as it’s phenomenally accurate tracking in Sports Champions (To throw a frisbee, you just move your arm like you’re throwing a frisbee – Wii Sports Resort was good, but I still had to ‘adjust’ to the game a bit – in Sports Champions, it’s just spot on, and awesome), it works really well with RUSE (Ubi’s RTS game – the reason I got Move) and Flight Control HD (port of an iPhone casual game – not deep, but fun). I’ve used it with MAG as well, but I think I’ll always prefer the Dualshock for my FPS over Move and Mouse/kb.

However, it’s hard to say how Kinect will go. I never anticipated how well Move would work with Flight Control HD, and it could turn out that Steel Battalion and Child of Eden will be eye-openers with MS’ new toy. However, I still feel the lack of buttons will be limiting (I love the Eyetoy, but it could only do certain things because of its buttonless setup), and that the deeper Kinect games will rely mainly on the 360 controller with some minor Kinect input.

9 11 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

Thanks for the hands on report – as I stated I don’t have either hardware yet but will most liking be purchasing the MOve relatively soon.

Hopefully since the Kinect has now released we will be hearing more information and so far what I have heard is exactly what I have detailed in this article. Great tech nothing much more.

30 10 2010
tadpole

For me the choice is easy. The Move. I realize kids will love Kinect but I’m an adult male. I really enjoy Sports Champions and The Shoot. I can’t imagine myself playing any Kinect games I’ve seen. Just not for me. I’ve heard the best launch game for Kinect will be Dance Central. I’m sure gay men and Ellen Degenerate or Degenerase or whatever will love it but, not my kind of game at all. You enjoy your Kinect, I’ll enjoy the Move, everyone’s happy.

8 11 2010
Skybase

I have the Wii, the Playstation Move, as well as the Kinect sensor. My Wii will basically be for exclusive titles that I love at this point..such as Mario, Donkey Kong, Zelda etc..and of those, only the ones that don’t use the motion controls in a “gimmicky” way.

My Playstation move is great for shooters…and other games where you don’t have to move your entire body. In my experiences under several lighting conditions, the move doesn’t track using solely the camera on my body all that well. I really feel that I need to use 2 motion controllers to get the most out of Move for many games. Also, the added move funtionality on the few games that I’ve tried thus far dont’ feel very natural…and I don’t enjoy nearly as much as i do with a standard controller. it’s definitely not a replacement on all titles. Only thus far the games that were designed with it solely in mind. Heavy Rain was a pain with Move. NBA 2k11 won’t even bind to a navigation controller, leaving you to hold the motion controller and a sixaxis to play. However, I DO love the sports champions game as well as Time Crisis with the Move. it’s a great controller setup with more accuracy than my wii due to the use of the Eye camera and lights to help track the controllers better.

Kinect is a whole other deal. It tracks my body a hell of a lot better than the Eye’s Refractive camera can do. Tracks 3D movement a lot better, and this is in any lighting. From direct 4 bulb overhead to a single tiny lamp on the corner in almost total darkness. I would never expect Kinect to replace my controllers. It’s not designed for that completely. it’s designed as a new experience, just as the Move is, for particular titles. The benefit being that you CAN’T just lay down on your bed. You can’t just sit down and wave your arms around. it demands that you get up and get involved…with your entire body. This is what Kinect is about. it’s about the games that encourage you to move naturally. From workouts to racing to other sports…Kinect just has the capability to more accurately represent your natural form and get you more involved in the game in this way. When you’re hurdling..you have to JUMP. Not simply position 2 lightbulbs up high. When you spin around…you don’t just rotate said controller. This isn’t a knock on Move…it’s just reality. They are different camera technologies (go check out Canesta, which MS just finalized purchase of days prior to Kinect’s launch. Even Kinect has been slightly impaired to work with this generation of console. it is CAPABLE of so much more. Price and Processing power demanded the removal of a particular chip in the camera that would have enabled even more. This technology can also be used in PC computing, and in business.

As for the meat and potatoes of the entire thing..the enjoyability of the games….all of the current systems have something on the others. Wii is basically down to the exclusives and balance board at this point, I believe…Move has that tactility and flexibility of having buttons for games that require some sort of additional input….and the Kinect leads the way for interactivity and full involvement in a more natural way. Downfall for Kinect…is the amount of space required to use this technology. Especially for 2 players.

All of these fanboy comments I’m reading throughout this page are amusing….but so much of what’s been said is simply that. It’s ramblings of unfamiliar gamers that can’t, or aren’t willing, to look beyond exactly how they play games right now. Go back to Atari. 1 button, 1 stick. The games were great, and they had no need of even one extra button. Gaming changes. The controllers change. The gamers change. And if you dont’ want to change…there will still be games out there for you. But the level of challenge and change is not going to simply stop because you’ve grown up comfortable to only moving your thumbs 1/2 inch in any direction.

Hell, after getting Kinect..and thinking I’d only want to pick up 1 or 2 games…and primarily use it for movies/etc….I’ve found myself picking up almost all of the launch titles thus far. They are all so incredibly fun once you actually get into them. And that Your Fitness game…is serious business! haha definitely a workout I coudn’t get with any of the other current technologies.

9 11 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

Great write up, I appreciate the input from someone who has and can contrast the difference in all three of the motion controlled devices.

Hope to see you around in the comments more, Thanks!

30 03 2011
Mark

I have move and i havnt been that impressed with it and im a self confessed ps3 fanboy , ive recently bought a 360 with kinect and i have to say we love it … has trouble recognising my 4 year old son sometimes but as a family thing kinect is fun, i cant speak for the more hardcore games yet though so jury is out , but kinect is a great piece of kit in my opinion

30 03 2011
BeyondTheD-Pad

Honestly right now niether hardware really impresses me for one main reason – the software. I meantioned that in the article as well once either has some hardware that gamers want that will be the winner. I am still looking to get my hands on a Knect to try it though.

Thanks for your comments and opinnion from first hand experience, I appreciate it.

4 02 2012
Best Video Games

Couple years latter and they are still trying to figure this out… Although, from my perspective, the Move is losing to the kinect.

Leave a Reply

