My Extra Life

12 07 2010

Extra Life is a 24 hour charity gaming marathon started by Sarcastic Gamer that raises money to help heal kids. The past two years it has raised over 250k (1/4 million) dollars that all went to the Texas Children’s Hospital. This year Extra Life is back and with a new development. In 2010 gamers will still will be raising money for kids with life threatening illnesses but instead of going to the prestigous Texas Children’s Hospital 100% of the funds will go directly to the local Children’s Miracle Network Hospital of your choice. This means that your amazing efforts will directly benefit your local community regardless of where you reside.

I have participated in this event in the past but this year my passion to help has been significantly increased by events that have occurred in my own life. As some of you may be aware my now four month old son required heart surgery at 3 weeks old. As a parent this was one of the most difficult situations I have been through however throughout the entire process our local Children’s Miracle Network Hospital, Children’s Hospital of Central California, not only took excellent care of our son but informed and helped us through the process as well. I have no doubt they saved my son’s life and I will be eternally grateful for that. Now I say this not as a sad story or to gain sympathy as my son has recovered extremely well and is completely healthy today. But rather to illustrate just one of the thousands of stories about the wonderful facility that helped my son and thousands like him and continue to help children who are still fighting and will continue to fight.

For those reasons and many more I feel the least I could do is attempt to help a hospital that has given so much to me which will in turn help another family or child. So this year on October 16th 2010 I will be participating in Extra Life 2010 hopefully joined and supported by you. Yes, I am talking to YOU.

Now comes your part. You may be thinking how can I help or why should I help I don’t have children? Well lets face it we all have someone we know who has been struck with a serious illness plus no one likes to see children suffer. Not to mention you never know your efforts now could help you, a friend or family member in the future. Take me for example, I never thought I would need the services at such a facility yet it was essential that I did. At the very least we all could use a little positive karma for helping.

Now that I have you convinced you can donate to my page specifically by clicking here (all proceeds will be going to Children’s Hospital of Central California) or you can sign up yourself by going here and raise funds for your community. If you plan on doing that be sure to sign up for our team by searching for “Beyond The D-Pad” under Find a Team in your account main menu. If all that seems to be too much then please at least help us spread the word by telling your friends, family, enemies and everyone you come in contact with. We need all the help we can get, Thank you!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

If you would like more information regarding Extra Life you can get that by going here. Alternatively if you have questions or concerns you can leave a comment below and I would be happy to help. Also if you have a story to tell on who you would like to dedicate your efforts to and in the process give hope to others or if you just want to express your support I encourage you to do so in the comments section below.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 09 2010
Johnathan O.

1 of 2000+ to play for 24 hours. Combined that is atleast 48,000 hours of gaming worldwide, which is a beautiful stat 😀

Just leaving a friendly message to say good luck with your team, and I hope you survive the 24 hours.

29 09 2010
BeyondTheD-Pad

I appreciate the support Johnathan. Not sure of my plan yet on how I will be surviving, honestly I will just think of the kids.

I dig your site by the way. I like the incorporation with sports I’ve been looking to do something similar. Anyways good luck with your ExtraLife Venture as well. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

