Top Anticipated Games of 2010

12 03 2010

Since I have completed my GOTY 2009 post I thought it would be a good idea to look at the games forecasted to come out this year. Although I still have not played all of the great games that came out in 2009 and despite a lot of quality games that have already released this year, we as gamers have a lot to look forward to. As good as 2009 was it appears 2010 won’t disappoint – here are some of the most anticipated games yet to release, for me at least.

Diablo 3


Release Date: TBA Platform: PC

It’s doubtful this game will come out this year however it become an anticipated title the day it was announced. I spent copious amounts of time playing the original and I can’t wait to sink hours upon hours searching for loot and crawling around the various dungeons while eviscerating the world of evil.

God of War 3


Release Date: March 16th 2010 Platform: PS3

The God of War series was the pinnacle of gaming in most peoples eyes last generation and I can’t wait to see what the Santa Monica Studios have waiting for us with God of War 3.  The stage appears to be on a much larger scale and the brutality and gore seem to also be ratcheted up.

Heavy Rain


Release Date: February 23rd 2010 Platform: PS3

This title appears to be hit and miss for most gamers but I for one can’t wait to play it. I am not sure if it’s going to be a great game but I have no doubt that it will stretch the thinking of most gamers and developers. I applaud a development team that is trying to expand the medium and create a cinematic experience. I believe Heavy Rain will have a large impact on future titles therefore I am eager to experience it.

StarCraft 2


Release Date: TBA Platform: PC

StarCraft 2 is along the same lines as Diablo 3 for me. I love watching pro gamers play a game of StarCraft knowing I will never reach that level but admiring the skill and strategy it takes to perform at that level. I enjoy the minute details of multiplayer but the single player campaign and story is just as fantastic, with the inclusion of Battle.Net 2.0 I can’t imagine Blizzard would put out anything less that spectacular.

Battlefield Bad Company 2


Release Date: March 2nd 2010 Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360

The simple Battlefield name makes this title anticipated since all of their titles seem so well polished with an extensive amount of time put forth on both the single and multiplayer options. Not to mention FPS’s sell well, just ask Infinity Ward, despite being more tactical and not as much as a twitch shooter it does draw a similar crowd. The personality of the first bad company game is what made me enjoy it so well and I am eager to see what they did with its successor.

Gran Turismo 5


Release Date: 2010 Platform: PS3

It’s difficult to say when this title will actually release considering the amount of time it’s been in development along with the amount of times it has been delayed. But there is no denying that when released it will be anticipated by many gamers considering the series is the highest selling Playstation exclusive of all time. I do enjoy my arcade racers but at times I enjoy challenging myself to a simulation racer and in my eyes Gran Turismo is the de facto simulation racer on any platform.

Fallout: New Vegas


Release Date: 2010 Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360

One of my favorite games this generation is Fallout 3 the amount of time and enjoyment I received from that game is unparalleled. To this day I am still playing Fallout 3 and making my way through the expansive world along with the lengthy DLC. So when I heard there was another Fallout game coming my interest was instantly sparked. Although the details we have are minimal I can’t wait to get lost in another deep and intriguing story while I scour my surroundings. This title will be an instant pick up for me.

ModNation Racers


Release Date: Spring 2010 Platform: PS3, PSP

When this was first announced I will admit I was skeptical for many reasons mainly because I was unsure whether or not this title would be easy enough to use while still having enough tools and options to be enjoyable. My worry disappeared when I was able to try out the beta earlier this year. Although the comparison as been made many other times it truly is the Mario Kart of this generation. The only remaining variable is the community however based on the success of Little Big Planet I remain positive and eagerly look forward to playing this title.

Split/Second


Release Date: May 18th 2010 Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360

As I said before I love arcade style racing games which can easily be seen by my love of PURE. I completely enjoyed PURE which is partly the reason why I am looking forward to Split/Second considering it’s the same developer. Split/Second is not just a new arcade style racer as it adds a different dimension to the game by introducing destructive environments that can alter the game and race track. If they can nail the gameplay and graphics down like they did for PURE I have no doubt that Split/Second will be a quality game and one to look forward to.

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker


Release Date: May 25th 2010 Platform: PSP

There appears to be a reoccurring theme in most of these titles, they are sequels to games that I have enjoyed in the past or series that I have a liking to. The same can be said for this title – I love the Metal Gear series as convoluted as it may seem and actually is. I have yet to purchase a PSP but if any title will force me to do that then Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker would be the one. Although it’s on a portable system Hideo Kojima as stated that Peace Walker is the next game in the series and a spiritual successor to Metal Gear Solid 4. Metal Gear Solid 4 was the title that forced me to purchase a PS3 and it appears that Peace Walker will be the title that forces me to purchase a PSP.

Metal Gear Solid: Rising


Release Date: TBA Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360

I could come up with some fancy reason why this title is on my anticipated list but instead I will just regurgitate my love for the Metal Gear series as that is the sole reason why I am looking forward to this title. The storytelling in every one of the games is stellar not to mention the meticulous details that Kojima Productions puts in every one of their titles. Easily making this a title I can not wait to get my hands on.

Batman Arkham Asylum 2


Release Date: TBA Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360

Again a title where not much is known about it other than we know its coming but that’s good enough. Arkham Asylum was such a refreshing and well thought out story that was brilliantly mixed into a satisfying gameplay. It was one of the biggest personal surprises for me and I was happy to hear that Rocksteady would be giving us more real soon. We all have thoughts on what should be done but I will leave it to them considering the masterpiece they previously put together.

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands


Release Date: May 18th 2010 Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, PSP, Wii, DS

I have always enjoyed the Prince of Persia series and The Sands of Time is easily one of my favorite games of the last generation so a title that returns to that storyline will easily be anticipated in my books. I liked the Prince of Persia game earlier this generation but I didn’t have the same interest as I do for this title. A continuance of that story along with the traditional game play makes this a title I eagerly look forward to.

The Last Guardian


Release Date: 2010 Platform: PS3

Speaking of titles that were some of the best last generation Team Ico has a few that make that list while neither initially were huge sellers they both slowly became the best the PS2 had to offer. Both of these titles added an emotional layer that most gamers were not accustomed to. While emotion may have previously been present they put the player in thought provoking decisions making you feel an emotional connection. While little is known about the upcoming title its safe to say this title will hit with huge fanfare.

Brink


Release Date: 2010 Platform: PC, PS3, Xbox 360

Honestly I can’t personally pinpoint why I am anticipating Brink maybe it’s the intrigue since not much is known about the game. Splash Damage, who developed Doom 3, is developing this title and it’s their first original title which also intrigues me. It’s a first-person shooter with a twist as there will be persistent player characters and team based multiplayer missions. Despite the little that is actually known I am eager to find out more information as the year develops, I hope the game can live up to my lofty expectations.

Red Dead Redemption


Release Date: May 18th 2010 Platform: PS3, Xbox 360

There are not many western games not to mention good western games so for those who like that genre they are hard pressed to find a quality game. Therefore when one appears to be a good it is latched onto which is the case for Red Dead Redemption. This title is a third-person sandbox style action adventure game set in the early 1900’s with an emphasis on gunplay. My only concern is the amount of times this title has been delayed, I hope for our sake it was to make the game better and not because they think it’s incomplete. Either way I look forward to this title releasing.

NBA Jam


Release Date: 2010 Platform: Wii

If any of you visited an arcade in the early 90’s then you remember the arcade version of this game. Despite being recently announced and being a Wii game, which I haven’t even turned on in months, this title immediately jumped on to my anticipated list. It may be due to nostalgia, no wait – it’s certainly due to nostalgia but that’s alright with me. I will actually have a reason to turn my Wii on and I am hopeful the new game brings me as much joy as the arcade version did.

Super Mario Galaxy 2


Release Date: May 23rd 2010 Platform: Wii

Yes, I am as surprised as you yet another Wii game that made it on the list. Look I focus on PS3 games since that is my console of choice but like many others I have a Wii that I rarely turn on and it’s nice to be seeing some games that are being released that give me a reason to do just that. These types of games may not be complex and the graphics may not be the best but Nintendo as the capability of producing some of the best fun during a video game than practically anyone else. I hope they continue to please their fans which they seem to be doing with this title.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Did I miss any titles? Of course I did – I would love to see your list of most anticipated games or maybe you agree with my list. Either way I would love to hear your feedback whatever it may be. Please do so in the comment section below.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 03 2010
GregHorrorShow

Great article mate – it’s a really good time to be a gamer. I’m hoping NBA Jam can recapture the same spirit it had in the 90’s!

14 07 2010
E3 Hands On: NBA Jam (Wii) « Beyond The D-Pad

[…] the Nintendo Wii. As someone who enjoys both basketball and over the top arcade games I have been anticipating this title for some time now but was also skeptical if EA could pull off the same feel and enjoyment of the arcade […]

Leave a Reply

