Starcraft 2 – Gameplay Footage

18 04 2009

Blizzard recently released their latest Battle Report, which is basically a replay of a game. The current Battle Report was a match played on a never before seen 1v1 map called Blistering Sands between Matt Cooper who played as the Zerg vs David Kim who played as the Terran. During the 20+ minutes of the replay many new units are seen as well as new abilities. Check out the footage below along with my comments and reaction.

Make sure to watch the video in full screen, click the icon on the lower right corner.


Let me first say that I played a crap load of the original Starcraft and when I wasn’t playing I was watching replays of previous games to either improve my strategy or just to waste time. The replay system prior was not all that great and at times difficult to tell what the other player was doing. So if Battle Reports is the new way we will be watching replays on battle.net let’s just say that I like it. The extra tools and features are a welcomed change.

Now granted I was excited when Starcraft 2 was originally announced just because of the sheer amount of time I had put into Starcraft but with the influx of material now surfacing I can’t wait. Admittedly I have been a Blizzard fan boy from the very beginning; they have always produce fantastic games with the primary concern on quality and a gamers’ experience. The two titles that initially helped games play a bigger role in my life were the original Diablo and Starcraft, which I still play to this day. Because of that the entire Diablo and Starcraft franchises will always hold a special place in my heart because of the many years I spent playing and enjoying those titles with friends. Now that both of these titles have sequels announced I am elated and can’t wait for either of these titles which I am sure will take up a huge chunk of my life. I am confident they will bring back the hay days of my gaming past although I may need to get a new computer. Hmmm, off to newegg for now…

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

What are your comments regarding Starcraft 2 and the recently released video, do you share our enthusiasm? Or maybe you have a different game that you are looking forward to. Whatever the case let us know below in the comments.

Actions

Information

One response

3 05 2009
Month in Review: April « Beyond The D-Pad

[…] With an overwhelming amount of quality games that have been released on the Playstation 3 it’s easy to overlook some of the games on the PlayStation Network. However I am here to tell you that would be a mistake. Instead I will offer you a list of the top 10 PSN games. 10. 1942: Joint Strike […] Starcraft 2 – Gameplay Footage […]

Leave a Reply

